They’re giant robots, for f*!k sake!

27 07 2007

I’ve read a couple reviews of the Transformers movie, in which the writer complained about the flat, two-dimensional characters and the lack of plot. If you saw Transformers, and were disappointed in the plot and character development, let me ask you something…

Are you fucking serious? Did you maybe go into the wrong theater?

It’s a movie about giant, sentient, shape-shifting robots from outer space. The story is twenty years old and based on a series of children’s toys. What do you expect?

Personally, I thought the movie was great. But then, I went into the theater expecting there to not be much of a plot or character development. And I didn’t care. I paid eighteen dollars (my wife and I) to see giant robots fight each other. I got exactly what I went for. Plus a little extra eye candy in the form of Megan Fox. Perhaps even more sexy, however, was Rachael Taylor (the one on the left). Sexy + geeky = super-ultra-mega hot!

I digress.

The movie was fun. There was humor, even poking fun at itself – like when Mikaela asked Sam if she seemed shallow, Sam said there was more to her than meets the eye. I got a good chuckle out of that.

The point in all this is that you can’t look too deeply into Transformers. When you watch it, let your brain relax. Just go with the flow and enjoy the ride.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

